Winging It: A Lifestyle

img_2490.jpg

Today is a pretty significant day for me. It’s the day I was supposed to go back to Madrid for three more months. My trip would have included a 3 day stop over in Paris. But instead, I decided to return to New York and do this…’thing’. Boy.

I don’t regret my decision to come back to New York, but it sure is tough thinking about the life I gave up the night I called Delta and cancelled my ticket. See, I knew that life, and I knew how to make it work.  While it was never an easy lifestyle (contrary to what people probably think an expat’s life in Spain is like) living abroad in another culture makes you feel more alive and closer to being a child again than anything else. The frustrations, the little victories, everything is new everyday.

Not that juggling five freelance jobs here is boring. So I’m not going to bitch and moan about having to remake a life in one of the greatest cities in the world.  But I just want to say to anyone reading this who is thinking of going abroad, whether to study, work, volunteer, or just take an extended tour: What are you waiting for?? GET THE HELL OUT THERE ALREADY!

You won’t regret it.

~ by Jeff on September 16, 2006.

One Response to “Winging It: A Lifestyle”

  1. Jefe, there was a great repeat broadcast (I can’t find the original air date) on This American Life recently in which David Sedaris recounts “the frustrations, the little victories” of life abroad…and describes the funky nooks and crannies that make up “his” Paris. And, did you see his “D’Accord” article in the New Yorker a couple of weeks ago? You are in good company in your encouraging words and funny tales. I’m almost ready to buy that plane ticket…

Leave a Reply

 
